Main Site Sponsor


Find Us on Facebook


Senior League Division 1A Sunday June 19th

                                                Charlestown Sarsfields 1-7 3-7 Ballintubber

Our Senior team maintained their push for League honours after a deserved win in wet and windy Charlestown on Sunday. A blistering opening half saw the Abbeysiders bag 3 goals in the first 15 minutes and play some fine passages of football. Goals from Conor Finnerty, Bryan Walsh and Alan Plunkett saw the visitors race out of the blocks where Diarmuid O’Connor incidentally played the first 30 minutes. Points from Alan Plunkett (2) and 2 frees from Damien McGing saw the boys in red 3-4 to 0-6 ahead at the break. Substitute Stephen Finnerty opened the second half scoring following a pointed free and things looked even better when another substitute Dean Loftus scored his sides 4th goal although it was later found out that the goal was disallowed with little indication of this on the pitch. Conditions worsened in the second half which resulted in few enough scoring opportunities although Damien McGing kicked the games best point from the left side while he also pointed another free. Before the end Charlestown were awarded a penalty which was well converted by full-forward Colm Maye while the hosts kicked over a final point to leave 6 points between the sides. Best for Ballintubber included Cathal Hallinan at full-back while Brian Murphy, Myles Kelly  and Kevin Shannon also stood out. Danny Geraghty and Stephen Broderick impressed in midfield while the full-forward line of Damien McGing, Alan Plunkett and Conor Finnerty racked up 2-6 and always looked menacing especially in the opening half. The win pushes Ballintubber back to the top of Division 1A on scoring difference from Hollymount-Carramore where next Saturday evening sees our Senior team play their second Championship game in Clogher when Charlestown make the return journey at 5.30 in a must-win game for the Abbeysiders.

Ballintubber team that lined out : Brendan Walsh, Gary Loftus, Cathal Hallinan, Myles Kelly, Kevin Shannon, Brian Murphy, Ruaidhri O’Connor, Danny Geraghty, Stephen Broderick, Diarmuid O’Connor, Ray Geraghty, Bryan Walsh (1-0), Damien McGing (0-4, 3f), Alan Plunkett (1-2), Conor Finnerty (1-0). Subs used : Dean Loftus for Diarmuid O’Connor, Stephen Finnerty (0-1, 1f) for Bryan Walsh, Joe Geraghty for Gary Loftus, Declan Larkin for Kevin Shannon, Eoin Vahey for Conor Finnerty, John Duffy for Ray Geraghty.  

We use cookies to make our website work better. We respect your privacy. Privacy Policy