Main Site Sponsor


Find Us on Facebook


Senior League Division 1A Saturday September 24th

      Castlebar Mitchels 1-11 1-9 Ballintubber

Our Senior teams League ambitions were ended in damp Mulvey park on Saturday evening when an injury time goal secured the league points for the hosts as well as the bragging rights. In truth it was a harsh outcome to the game as the Abbeysiders looked to have done enough to claim the spoils but an extended period of injury time allowed the Mitchels gain the points on offer.  Ballintubber led 0-5 to 0-4 at the interval having had the benefit of the cross field wind with Alan Plunkett and Bryan Walsh the main scoring threats inside as they scored 0-3 and 0-2 respectively.

Castlebar, wearing an alternative yellow strip began the second half well where they kicked over the first 4 points of the half while the influential Ruaidhri O’Connor received a black card. Despite this the boys of the ‘tubber players their best football of the game where scores from Alan Plunkett, Damien McGing and the roving Gary Loftus levelled the game at 0-8 apiece. As the game was coming to a close Castlebar got back in front although that was levelled shortly after from substitute Ray Geraghty who levelled from a free. It looked as if the spoils would be shared until midfielder Danny Geraghty lashed a ’45 all the way to the top corner of the Castlebar net shortly after and suddenly it looked as if the points were coming to the Abbeyside. However referee Declan Corcoran kept the game going with the Mitchels not giving up as they pointed before a short passing attack resulted in the match winning goal. Before the final whistle full-forward Neil Douglas put a final gloss to the win when he kicked over the games final score. Afterwards it was confirmed that Hollymount-Carramore won their game against neighbours Garrymore which meant the Division 1 title went to the saucer .

Next up will be the crucial Championship game against Aghamore where the winner get a place in the knockout stages.

Ballintubber team that lined out : Frank Walsh, Declan Larkin, Cathal Hallinan, Brian Murphy, Myles Kelly, Michael Plunkett, Ruaidhri O’Connor, Danny Geraghty (1-0 from ’45), Stephen Broderick, Alan Plunkett (0-4, 1f), Gary Loftus (0-1), Bryan Walsh (0-2, 1f), Damien Coleman, Damien McGing (0-1), Cathal Finnerty. Subs used – Joe Geraghty, Kevin Shannon, Ray Geraghty (0-1, 1f), and Eoghan Vahey 

We use cookies to make our website work better. We respect your privacy. Privacy Policy